Home Computer graphics “Only a Child” named best of the show at SPARK Animation 2021

“Only a Child” named best of the show at SPARK Animation 2021


The SPARK Computer Graphics Society (Spark CG) announced the winners of its 2021 SPARK Animation competition. The awards ceremony will be available online during the 12th edition SPARK Animation Film Festival, which runs from October 28 to November 7.

The winners are:

Best of Show:

  • Only one child by Simone Giampolo (Switzerland)

WIA Diversity Award:

  • All these sensations in my stomach by Marko Djeska (Croatia)

The director’s award:

  • The fall by Vancouverite Desirae Witte (Canada)

Winner, 3D narrative short film:

  • Mr. Spam gets a new hat by William Joyce (United Kingdom)

Finalist, 3D narrative short

  • Mila by Cinzia Angelini (United States)

Winner, 2D narrative short

  • Art Affairs by Joanna Quinn (United Kingdom)

Finalist, 2D narrative short

Winner, stop-motion narrative short and winner, Canadian film:

  • Angakusajaujuq: the shaman’s apprentice by Zacharias Kunuk (Canada)

Winner, mixed narrative short

  • Freedom swimmer by Olivia Martin-McGuire (United Kingdom)

Finalist, mixed narrative short

  • I am Chuma by Wendy Spinks and Clea Mallinson (South Africa)

Winner of the student short film:

  • The tears of the Seine by Yanis Belaid, Eliott Benard, Nicolas Mayeur, Etienne Moulin, Hadrien Pinot, Lisa Vicente, Filipino singer, Alice Letailleur (France)

Finalist, Student film

  • Domestic bird by Ewa Smyk (United Kingdom)

Special mention, Social message, Student short film

  • I felt alright then, I felt alright now by Ashton Blyth (United Kingdom)
  • Where are you really from? by Steven Lee (United States)
  • The Bestia by Marlijn van Nuenen, Ram Tamez, Alfredo Gerard, Kuttikatt (Germany)
  • Misery loves Company of Sasha Lee (Korea)

Special mention, Documentary, Student short film

  • Circus in town by Sebastian Kellermann, Robin Pfister (Germany

Special mention, Comedy, Student short film

  • Barking orders by Alex Tullo (United States)
  • Molly and her cat by Annabelle Cabaret, Lucie Damin, Emmanuel-Xuân, Dubois, Chloé Laffaire, Yifang Man, Clarisse Milcent (France)

Special mention, Stop-Motion, Student short film

  • The meadow by Daniel Hope (United Kingdom)
  • Three leaps to happiness by Artur Hanaj (Poland)

Winner, Commercial

  • Head shoulders The hunt by CRCR (Japan)

Winner, PSA

  • Save Ralph by Spencer Susser (United States)

Winner, Kinematics

  • League of Legends, Phoenixmancers by CRCR (United States)

Special mention, Interactive animation

  • Wayfinder by Matt DesLauriers (Canada)

Winner, Video Clip

  • Jordan hart Freedom by Nicos Livesey (United Kingdom)

Special mention, Video clip

  • Katy Perry Harley in Hawaii by Hoku Uchiyama, Adam Bolt (United States)
  • I am sorry by Hayoung Elaine Song (Korea)

Winner, VFX

  • But happy by Anatolii Umanets (Ukraine)

Source: SPARK Computer Graphics Society


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here